Monday, 07 April 2014 04:01





Sevottam is a Service Delivery Excellence Model which provides an assessment-improvement framework to bring about excellence in public service delivery. The need for a tool like Sevottam arose from the fact that Citizens’ Charters by themselves could not achieve the desired results in improving quality of public services. Besides, the absence of a credible grievances redressal mechanism within organizations was also becoming a major impediment in improving service delivery standards. Thus, it was felt that unless there is a mechanism to assess the outcomes of various measures, the reform initiatives would not yield the desired results. The Sevottam model works as an evaluation mechanism to assess the quality of internal processes and their impact on the quality of service delivery.

The model has three components, and in addition to this overarching objective, there are intermediate outcomes expected from compliance of conditions designed for each of these three components.

The first component of the model requires effective charter implementation thereby opening up a channel for receiving citizens’ inputs into the way in which organizations determine service delivery requirements. Citizens’ Charters publicly declare the information on citizens’ entitlements; making citizens better informed and hence empowering them to demand better services.

The second component of the model, ‘Public Grievance Redress’ requires a good grievance redress system operating in a manner that leaves the citizen more satisfied with how the organization responds to complaints/grievances, irrespective of the final decision.

The third component ‘Excellence in Service Delivery’, postulates that an organization can have an excellent performance in service delivery only if it is managing the key ingredients for good service delivery well, and building its own capacity to continuously improve delivery.

The Bureau of Indian Standards came up with an Indian Standard for Quality Management Systems under IS 15700:2005 of. The standard itself stipulates that a Quality Management System helps an organization to build systems which enable it to provide quality service consistently and is not a substitute for ‘service standards’. In fact, they are complementary to each other. The Sevottam model seeks to assess an organization on

(i) implementation of the Citizens’ Charter,

(ii) implementation of grievances redressal system and

(iii) service delivery capability.

There are four broad ways in which this model can be used:

(1) as a self-assessment tool by organizations already motivated to improve service delivery,

(2) as a requirement standard,

(3) as a benchmark assessment process to be established,

(4) as a rating model to recognize and reward organizations that are doing commendable work in service delivery.

The Seven Steps to Sevottam proposed by ARC are:

Define all services which you provide and identify your clients.

Set standards and norms for each service.

Develop capability to meet the set standards.

Perform to achieve the standards

Monitor performance against the set standards.

Evaluate the impact through an independent mechanism.

Continuous improvement based on monitoring and evaluation results.